1 Year Blogiversary!

Today is an amazing day! The sun is shining and warming everything growing in my new garden patches, our family is in good health and thriving, and I get to pause and take a few moments to mark the end of my first year as a blogger.

muffin on a plate with fresh blueberries

These Lazy Baker Pancake Muffins became the first Our Lady of Second Helpings recipe to be featured on foodgawker.com

On May 16th 2011 I sat down, said a quick prayer, took a deep breath, and started typing. That first post remains one of my favorites because it came so organically. (A heartfelt profession of my love for Oatmeal) Since then there have been posts that flowed just as freely from my mind to the keyboard while others I fought with for days before coming up with a final product, or shelving the ideas for later.

The last twelve months have been an amazing start to what I can only hope becomes a lifetime of experiences. I have learned lessons in classrooms both virtual and brick and mortar. I have read countless articles, stacks of books, and written thousands of words all the while fueling a passion to learn even more. I can now pick up our DSLR camera push a few buttons and confidently snap a photo. I have added some simple but extremely useful tools to my kitchen and pull them out frequently to create new recipes. Perhaps most importantly, I have learned to slow down and pay closer attention to my cooking in order to make a meal that is reproducible. Through all of this I continue to write and all of you darling people, you continue to read.

Since the launch of the current site in January there have been over 25,000 views of the posts and pages on this blog! This number has me both humbled and awed. I don’t know how it compares to other sites but I am grateful to each and every person who stops by to see what is going on here. I sincerely hope that you find something useful and uplifting. I treasure the comments people leave and the emails that you send. These little tidbits help me stay motivated and continue to write.

Oven Baked Sweet Potato Fries with Mustard

Oven Baked Sweet Potato Fries were the most popular post of the past year. I almost didn’t share this cooking tip because I thought it wouldn’t be very interesting!

I have begun following more and more blogs written by talented and knowledgable people. I drool over their pictures and marvel at their prose. Somedays while I am reading these wonderful blogs I start to get down on myself. I look at their vibrant food and pages of comments and begin to feel like a microscopic fish in an infinite pond. On these days I try very hard to close my eyes and picture a woman perched in front of a laptop with a haphazard ponytail. She is an oasis of calm in a sea of dirty dishes, laundry baskets, plastic building blocks, and dress up clothes. I always picture her wearing faded yoga pants marked, on one thigh, with a toddler sized yogurt hand print. When I focus on that hand print put myself back on track and I continue to write.

I have to say a huge THANK YOU to Fine Frugality for nominating Our Lady of Second Helpings with both a Versatile Blogger Award and a Kreativ Blogger Award. She writes a busy blog with lots of great tips and ideas for simple living. I am honored and grateful to be recognized by someone who is doing such a wonderful job with her own blog. These awards are a little like a game of blogger tag so to fully play I need to tell you a few as yet unknown things about myself and produce my own list of awesome blogs. I promise to follow up on those aspects of the awards soon.

The Versatile Blogger & Kreativ Blogger Awards

Dear Readers I can’t say this enough – Thank for reading, thank you for sharing this site with others, thank you for your comments, your notes, your words of encouragement, your “likes” on Facebook, your “repins” on Pinterest, and the countless other ways you have lifted me and Our Lady of Second Helpings up during this first year in the blogosphere. During the next year I hope I continue to provide you with even more food for thought and for your table.

Empty Brown Egg Shells

Many many eggs were cracked to create all the recipes that were featured during Our Lady of Second Helpings first year.

The next year is already brimming with possibilities!

Saturday: I will be appearing on television for the first time and demonstrating a revised version of one of the recipes I have featured on this blog. I am bubbling with excitement and nerves. Tune in or set your DVRs to KCTS 9 (in the Seattle area) Saturday May 19th from 11 – 3. Any thoughts or prayers for poise and calm nerves will be very much appreciated.

Sunday: You may visit me at the Celebration of Food Festival in the Lynnwood Convention Center in Lynnwood, WA. It is a fantastic free event featuring wholesome food. The event is from 11 – 5 and I’ll be volunteering at the info table until 2 pm.

June 3rd: I am going to race into my next decade by running a 5k around Seattle’s Green Lake. Anyone in the Seattle area is invited to join me. Running is not required just a smiling face!

June 8th & 9th: I will be attending my first Blogher Food Conference here in Seattle. I am sure I will be overwhelmed by ideas at the end of the two days.

2 thoughts on “1 Year Blogiversary!

  1. It’s great to see others sharing healthy recipes and inspiration..thank you. Our family (kids and all) have been adapting to great taste in healthy food and taking care of ourselves for a few years now and it’s encouraging to see your blog and commitment. We’re from Seattle as well…loving the weather lately!

Comments, questions, or just say "hi"! Leave a note below, I'd love to hear from you!

