Savory Jalapeño Cornbread and a Give Away!!

 

 

Pieces of savory cornbread

We have reached the peak of the summer produce season and it is time to indulge in one of my favorite treats – fresh corn eaten right off the cob. I spend the bulk of the year looking forward to the few weeks we have access to this guilt-free indulgence.  I’ll take it grilled, steamed, or boiled for just a couple of minutes to soften the kernels. A perfectly ripe ear of corn is candy-sweet and the drippy, milky juices are unmatched by any commercial product I have tried. And while I no longer slather it with butter I wouldn’t say no to a squeeze of citrus and a sprinkling of salt.  Then quick as they arrived the 4 ears for $1 specials are gone and the wait for next year begins.

So what can we make in the meantime to tide us over?  How about some savory cornbread with just a bit of a kick from my new favorite ingredient and condiment Krazy Good Candied Jalapeños! AND I’m giving away a jar to a lucky reader – scroll down for the details.

Jar of Candied Jalapeños

I put this recipe together for a Father’s Day cook-out to tide me over until this years corn crop had fully ripened.  I hadn’t planed to create a recipe; I just wanted something light that lived up to it’s name.  The finished product needed to be more bread than cake and actually taste like corn.

Corn Bread with Corn Kernels and Sweet Jalapeño bits

When I began my quest for a savory cornbread, I was frustrated by the volume of recipes that included heavy doses of vegetable oil of melted butter.  By the time the dish was assembled the calorie and fat content came in much higher than my target for a simple side dish.  After some digging I came across a recipe on Simply Life for a Light Cornbread that was indeed “light”.

I started with the Simply Life recipe and made a few adjustments to achieve the tastes and textures I had in mind. A more dense and bready feel was achieved by using a lot of cornmeal and slightly more hearty whole wheat flour, instead of all-purpose flour.  I bypassed the non-fat milk in favor of soy to up the fat content just a wee bit.  I am learning that baked goods really do need some fat to make a nice crust.  Any low-fat milk should work for this recipe just skip the non-fat.

To make my cornbread taste like corn, I mixed in some actual whole kernels of corn! Not exactly original, but something that in my humble opinion, is not done nearly often enough. After swirling in some light agave and diced Candied Jalapeños I was ready to bake.

I made the cornbread the night before our Father’s Day party and I was so glad I did.  At the first taste the texture was good and it tasted like corn but the spice did not come through.  After sitting over night the jalapeños worked their way into the bread resulting in that great “starts mild and but slowly warms as you eat it” sensation.

Corn Bread with Corn Kernels and Sweet Jalapeño bits

Since frozen corn is available year round this recipe would be a great addition to a meal in any season.  It is light enough for a summer cookout but its full hearty flavor would also be completely at home on a fall or winter table. Whenever you make it I hope you enjoy it and think about long balmy summer evenings and fresh corn milk dripping from your elbows.

Savory Jalapeño Cornbread

A light but hearty tasting version of a traditional cornbread. This version is made without butter or oil to reduce the fat and allow the corn and jalapeño flavors to be the star and co-star of the show.  Adapted from Simply Life’s Light Cornbread – Makes 16 2×2 servings.

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cup cornmeal
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 eggs lightly beaten
  • 1 1/4 cup soy milk (or other low fat milk)
  • 2 tablespoons Light Agave (similar to honey)
  • 3/4 cup thawed corn kernels
  • 2 tablespoons diced “Krazy Good Candied Jalapeños” (a similar taste can be achieved with canned jalapeños and a extra 1/2 tablespoon of agave)
  • *optional* 1 oz. of finely grated Monterey Jack cheese

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Line the bottom of an 8×8 baking pan with parchment paper and spray the paper and pan sides with non-stick baking spray.
  2. In a medium bowl combine the cornmeal, flour, baking powder, and salt.  Either sift to combine or swirl together in the bowl with a whisk.
  3. Make a little depression or “well” in the center of the dry ingredients and pour in the lightly beaten eggs.  Use a rubber or silicone spatula to mix in the eggs adding the milk 1/3 at a time until fully combined.
  4. Mix in the agave, thawed corn kernels, and diced Candied Jalapeños.  Once combined fold in the cheese, if desired.
  5. Pour the cornbread batter in to the prepared baking pan and place into the preheated oven.  Bake for 20 minutes until the top is crusty and a toothpick can be inserted and removed clean.
  6. Allow to cool for about 10 minutes before removing from the baking pan to finish cooling on a wire rack.

If possible allow the cornbread to sit for 6 hours up to overnight before serving. Cut into 16 2×2 squares to serve.

Store any leftovers in an airtight container in the refrigerator for up to four days.

Nutrition per 1/16 square without the optional cheese: 87 calories, 1.6 g. fat, 16 g. carbs, 1.5 g. fiber, 3.4 g. protein, PP = 2

Nutrition per 1/16 square with cheese: 94 calories, 2 g fat, 16 g. carbs, 1.5 g. fiber, 3.4 g protein, PP = 2

 

Pieces of savory cornbread

GIVE AWAY!!!

Do you love the combo of sweet with the punch of spicy? I would love to send you a jar of these Krazy Good Candied Jalapeños! I met their creator Gerilyn at the first ever Snohomish County Celebration of Food and she gave me an extra jar of these little firecrackers to play with.  If you live in the lower 48 (sorry further flung readers!) I am all set to send you a jar too! (you can also buy them directly on the website)

Details: There are three ways to enter this give away –

1. Become a blog subscriber via email or in your RSS feed reader and leave a comment here telling me one new food you have tried this summer.

2.Become a Twitter follower and tweet your new summer food to me @OurLadyof2nds.

3. “Like” the Our Lady of Second Helpings Facebook page and leave a comment on the page naming your new summer food.

Deadline for the entries will be next Sunday August 19th at midnight pacific coast time.

Simple and Easy!

I can’t wait to see what new foods you have tried this summer and get some ideas for myself!

11 thoughts on “Savory Jalapeño Cornbread and a Give Away!!

  1. Pingback: Krazy Good Candied Jalapenos Contest Winner! « Our Lady of Second Helpings

  2. I do enjoy your blog and can’t wait to try your recipes. My new food this summer is white scallop squash from a farmer’s market. It’s almost too pretty to eat. I also love
    spicy food and jalopenos!

    • So happy to finally be sharing this recipe and these super yummy gems with my readers. Thank you for making a great product that fits seamlessly into a balanced, healthful, and flavor packed lifestyle.

  3. Hello,
    I am already a follower, and I love your blog! I am so proud of what you and your husband have accomplished. That said, I like spicy food, and would like to be the lucky winner of a jar of Crazy Good Candied Jalapenos.

    New food this Summer? Let me think … cioppino! I have tried Trader Joe’s seafood stew Cioppino. There are bits (oysters) I don’t like, so I make my DH pick them out, but otherwise I find it wonderful.

  4. This sounds delish! I love your thought process in developing the recipe. I have never heard of candied jalapenos but I think I love them already, I will keep an eye out for them! A completely new food I tried this summer was fermented black garlic–unfortunately it was not nearly as dramatic as it sounds. 🙂

Comments, questions, or just say "hi"! Leave a note below, I'd love to hear from you!

