Your Signature Potluck Dish – Creamy Broccoli Salad

Light and Creamy Broccoli Salad | Our Lady of Second Helpings

This is embarrassing to admit so please tell me I’m not the only one who does this – I excitedly accept an invitation to a party or potluck a few weeks away, make a note of the upcoming event on my calendar, and then file it away for later. The week of the potluck arrives and I have no dish planned, but, I don’t fret because there are still a few days to think of something. The day of the potluck arrives and I spend the entire day void of good ideas and wishing I had planned my dish in advance.

If you can relate to my method (or lack thereof) I have a suggestion for both of us. Choose a signature dish. Once you have chosen a signature dish you will be less likely to find yourself paying for a bag of chips and a tub of salsa thirty minutes before a party (at least grab one of the refrigerated options!).

Suggestions for choosing a signature dish:

  1. Start with ingredients you are likely to have on hand at any given time.
  2. Pick fresh ingredients with year round availability.
  3. Look for a dish that will be great if made a day in advance or just a few minutes prior to serving.
  4. Imagine your dish fitting easily with a variety of entrées (grilled meat, fish, casseroles, etc).
  5. Consider appealing to a wide range of dietary needs and preferences.
  6. Most importantly – make your signature dish something that you enjoy, that fits your health goals, and could satisfy your hunger if the other food options do not meet the first two criteria.

A few weeks ago I found myself hours from a potluck dinner with no solid plan for what to make. Adding to my stress was the guest list – all the other diners were food blog writers. Ack! I knew the meal would be casual but I wanted to bring something I was proud to share with the talented group.

Light and Creamy Broccoli Salad | Our Lady of Second Helpings

This salad came together less than an hour before I scrambled out the door. When I showed up to dinner with my bowl of Creamy Broccoli Salad I was very happy with my contribution. It fit right in with the hostess’s main dish and complemented the other appetizers and side dishes. It fits the criteria quite nicely and I may have found my signature dish.

Here are some of the other goodies we enjoyed:

Artichoke and Goat Cheese Phyllo Appetizer – by Shut Up & Cook (cheesy briny goodness in a crisp papery envelope)

Persian Cucumber Bites with Lox & Dill Cream Cheese – by Everyday Maven (crunchy, salty, creamy, and gorgeous!)

Light and Creamy Broccoli Salad | Our Lady of Second Helpings

Creamy Broccoli Salad

Make this versatile salad a day in advance to let the flavors mix and mingle overnight or throw it together right before the meal begins. The dressing makes just enough to coat the salad with a flavorful creaminess but stops short of becoming heavy or gloppy. Make sure to add the orange zest to the dressing it gives this salad a playful twist.

Prep time: 10 minutes, Cooking time: n/a; Yields 10 servings

Approximate nutrition per serving: 79 calories, 2 g fat, 13 g carbohydrates, 2 g fiber, 3.6 g protein, PP = 2

Citrus Honey Mustard Dressing - made with low fat Greek Yogurt! | Our Lady of Second Helpings

Creamy Honey Mustard Dressing

This creamy dressing has a lightness you won’t find in a bottle. It is quick to prepare and can be used to top a salad or in place of the usual condiments on a burger, wrap, or sandwich.

Prep time: 5 minutes, Cooking time: n/a; Yields 6 servings approximately 2.5 tablespoon each

Approximate nutrition per serving: 26 calories, 0 g fat, 4 g carbohydrates, 0 g fiber, 2 g protein, PP = 1

Citrus Honey Mustard Dressing - made with low fat Greek Yogurt! | Our Lady of Second Helpings

Disclaimer: Chobani recently sent me a selection of yogurt to experiment with. There was no agreement that I would recommend any of the flavors. However, I like their products and they work well in recipes so I want to let you know that I specifically used Chobani 0% plain in this recipe and was very happy with the result.

15 thoughts on “Your Signature Potluck Dish – Creamy Broccoli Salad

  1. Pingback: Unique Thanksgiving Sides |

  2. Pingback: 5 Ways to Eat your Favorite Fall Foods | A Healthy Slice of Life

  3. Pingback: One of these days… » Why does the Gaeilgeoir only have one egg in the morning? (Weekly menu)

  4. I was at a restaurant this past weekend, and I had a very similar salad (hence why I am on the hunt!). It was absolutely delicious, I cannot wait to try this recipe!

  5. Pingback: July 2 2013 meal plan | PDX Pursuit

  6. Pingback: Everything Awesome This Week | justabiteatatime

  7. Pingback: Stumbling Over Chaos :: Zippity, linkity, zoom!

  8. That is a great salad and much lighter that most mayo-bacon fat laced ones. Do you blanche your broccoli at all? I find it is easier for me to eat it that way.

Comments, questions, or just say "hi"! Leave a note below, I'd love to hear from you!

